Last updated 21 November 2013
Actors' Equity Association, est. 1913. http://www.actorsequity.org/
Annual Credit Report. Free credit report. https://www.annualcreditreport.com/
California Arts Council, Sacramento, CA. http://www.cac.ca.gov/
craigslist.com for classified ads worldwide. http://www.craigslist.org/about/
Currency Converter for 164 Currencies. http://www.oanda.com/convert/classic
Darwin Awards: A Chronicle of Enterprising Demises; Honoring those who improve the species…by accidentally removing themselves from it! http://www.darwinawards.com/
Haunted America Tours. http://www.hauntedamericatours.com/
Kairos. [R]hetoric, technology, & pedagogy. http://kairos.technorhetoric.net/
National Endowment for the Arts, Washington, DC, est. 1965 by Congress. http://www.nea.gov/
National Register of Historic Places: The official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. http://www.nps.gov/history/NR/index.htm
The New York Times Book Review. http://www.nytimes.com/pages/books/
Political Research Associates: A progressive think tank. http://www.politicalresearch.org/
Rotten Tomatoes: Movie & game reviews. http://www.rottentomatoes.com/
Travelocity: Airfares, hotels. http://www.travelocity.com/
Typing Test.com: How fast can you type? http://www.typingtest.com/
UNESCO World Heritage Centre. http://whc.unesco.org/en/map/ (map of sites), http://whc.unesco.org/en/list (list)


Combating Racism
Last updated 21 November 2013
ACLU (American Civil Liberties Union): Racial Justice Program. https://www.aclu.org/racial-justice/about-racial-justice-program
AAAA (American Assoc. for Affirmative Action) for HR professionals. http://www.affirmativeaction.org/
"Being church & overcoming racism," WCC (World Council of Churches). http://www2.wcc-coe.org/ccdocuments.nsf/index/plen-4-en.html
Color Q World: Interracial Interactions Btwn. People of Color. http://www.colorq.org/default.aspx
EEOC (U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission). http://www.eeoc.gov/
"How Not To Be Racist: A rosy outlook on life makes some people immune to racial prejudice." http://discovermagazine.com/2007/oct/how-not-to-be-racist
HRW (Human Rights Watch): Defending human rights worldwide. Multilingual. http://www.hrw.org/
"Language of Closet Racism," Critical Multicultural Pavilion, an EdChange project by Paul C. Gorski. http://www.edchange.org/multicultural/papers/langofracism2.html
National MultiCultural Institute: "Leading With Diversity," Washington, DC. http://www.nmci.org/
NNIRR (National Network for Immigrant & Refugee Rights). http://www.nnirr.org/drupal/
"A Short History of American Civil Rights Laws." http://www.withylaw.com/history.htm
SPLC (Southern Poverty Law Center): Intelligence Project, monitors U.S. hate groups. http://www.splcenter.org/intel/intpro.jsp
Teaching Tolerance.org: An SPLC project. http://www.tolerance.org/
"Theological Deconstruction & Reconstruction in the Fight against Racism," WCC (World Council of Churches). http://www.wcc-coe.org/wcc/what/jpc/echoes/echoes-17-06.html

Combating Sexism
Last updated 21 November 2013
Equal Rights Advocates: Fighting for women's equality, est. 1974. http://www.equalrights.org/
NCWO (National Council of Women's Organizations), representing over 200 organizations, est. 1983. http://www.womensorganizations.org/
NOW (The National Organization for Women), est. 1966. http://www.now.org/

Media
Last updated 21 November 2013
CEB Iconoculture Consumer Insights. http://www.iconoculture.com/
Democracy Now!: [P]ioneering the largest community media collaboration in the United States. http://www.democracynow.org/
Electronic Frontier Foundation: Defending Freedom in the Digital World, est. 1990. http://www.eff.org/
MuniNetGuide. City-related research. http://www.muninetguide.com/
NetworkWorld.com. Info tech news. http://www.networkworld.com/aboutus/index.html
New America Media, est. 1996. Ethnic news media collab. http://newamericamedia.org/
NNDB: tracking the entire world. http://www.nndb.com/
Publishers Weekly. Book reviews.http://www.publishersweekly.com/
Storming Media. Abstracts of U.S. Federal Government reports. http://www.stormingmedia.us/


Science & Technology
Last updated 21 November 2013
Daily Moon Position for Your Location. http://www.dailymoonposition.com
eBird: Birding in the 21st Century. http://ebird.org/content/ebird/ JPL (Jet Propulsion Laboratory) Robotics, Caltech, Pasadena, CA. http://www-robotics.jpl.nasa.gov/
Mount Wilson Observatory, CA. http://www.mtwilson.edu/
NASA: Kennedy Space Center, Cape Canaveral, FL. http://www.nasa.gov/centers/kennedy/home/index.html
NetFamilyNews.org: Tech intelligence for parents. http://www.netfamilynews.org/
time and date.com: Time zone converter, day & night world map. http://www.timeanddate.com/
Tonight's Sky. http://hubblesite.org/explore_astronomy/tonights_sky/

Search Engines
Last updated 29 April 2010
Dogpile.com metasearch, includes Google, Yahoo! Serach, Live Search, Ask.com, About.com, etc.
Excite.com
Google.com, includes Netscape
Lycos.com
Mamma.com metasearch
MetaCrawler.com metasearch
Yahoo.com, includes AltaVista

Symbols
Crest Japan: Family crests. http://eps.crest-japan.net/index_en.php
Design for You: Japanese Symbols. http://www.dsfy.com/index.htm
Symbols.com: Online Encyclopedia of Western Signs & Ideograms. Search by graphic or word. http://www.symbols.com/
Symbols.net: Directory of Signs, Glyphs, & Symbols. http://www.symbols.net/

Urban Legends, Hoaxes, & Scams
About.com: Urban Legends & Folklore. http://urbanlegends.about.com/
Symantec Security Response. http://securityresponse.symantec.com/
Urban Legends & Superstitions. http://urbanlegendsonline.com/
US-CERT (U.S. Computer Emergency Readiness Team), Dept. of HL Security. http://www.us-cert.gov/cas/tips/ST04-009.html
Warphead.com. Urban legends. http://www.warphead.com/modules/news/

Writers' Resources
The Authors Guild. http://www.authorsguild.org/
Merriam-Webster online dictionary. http://www.merriam-webster.com/
Merriam-Webster visual dictionary. http://visual.merriam-webster.com/
PEN USA, nonprofit writers organization. http://penusa.org/
Writer Beware blogs by A. C. Crispin and Victoria Strauss. http://accrispin.blogspot.com/
Writer's Digest Magazine. http://www.writersdigest.com/
Writers Guild of America, West. http://www.wga.org/