Updated: 25 July 2009

Folklore & Ghosts
"Ghosts, Demons and Spirits in Japanese Lore," by Norman A. Rubin. http://www.asianart.com/articles/rubin/
"Have you heard the one about?" Japanese urban legends. http://search.japantimes.co.jp/print/features/life2005/fl20050607zg.htm
Japanese Buddhist Statuary: Gods, Goddesses, Shinto Kami, Creatures & Demons by Mark Schumacher http://www.onmarkproductions.com/html/buddhism.shtml
"Japanese Ghosts," by Tim Screech Mangajin, issue 40. http://www.mangajin.com/mangajin/samplemj/ghosts/ghosts.htm
"Japanese Ghosts and Spirits," by Charla White. http://theshadowlands.net/ghost/japanese.html
Japanese Ghosts class websites. http://japaneseghosts.blogspot.com/
Japanese Studies Yōkai Database (in Japanese only). http://www.nichibun.ac.jp/YoukaiDB/index.html
Map of Sacred Sites in Japan by Martin Gray. http://www.sacredsites.com/asia/japan/japan.html
The Obakemono Project. http://www.obakemono.com/
Sarudama: Japanese Folklore. http://www.sarudama.com/japanese_folklore/index.shtml
"Yōkai," Monstropedia.com. http://www.monstropedia.org/index.php?title=Yokai


Fun Stuff
Crest Japan: Japanese family crests. http://eps.crest-japan.net/index_en.php
Design for You—Japanese Symbols. http://www.dsfy.com/index.htm
Electric Samurai's Omikuji. http://www.asahi-net.or.jp/~EB3Y-KKTK/omikuji/omikuji.html (oracle)
J-List online store. Popular culture products. http://www.jlist.com/index.html
KanjiGraphy.com: Oriental Zodiac. Hour, season, year. http://www.kanjigraphy.com/mainpages/info/orientalzodiac.html
Media
Asahi Shimbun. http://www.asahi.com/english/
The Japan Times. http://www.japantimes.co.jp/
Mainichi Daily News. Home of infamous WaiWai column. http://mdn.mainichi.jp/


Music and Fashion
JaME American/Europa/East Asia (est. 2005). Japanese music database.
JapanFiles.com. MP3, contemporary Japanese music. http://www.yesjapan.com/japanfiles/
Jrock Revolution. http://jrockrevolution.com/
Lolita Kisama International. Gothic Lolita, Visual Kei clothing. http://www.lolita-kisama.com/main
Purple Sky, W. Caldewell, NJ (Clear Phoenix Media). J-Rock magazine. http://www.purpleskymagazine.com/
visual-addicts: Online community for Japanese alternative fashion fans. http://www.visual-addicts.com/
Theatre
Japan Performing Arts Network Japan. http://www.performingarts.jp/E/topics/
Kabuki-za Theater Company, Ginza, Tokyo. All-male theatre company. http://www.shochiku.co.jp/play/kabukiza/theater/
National Bunraku Theatre, Minami-ku, Osaka, Japan. http://www.kisho.co.jp/WorksAndProjects/Works/bunraku/
National Theatre of Japan, Japan Arts Council web site. http://www.ntj.jac.go.jp/english/index.html
Takarazuka Revue Company. All-female musical theatre company. http://kageki.hankyu.co.jp/english/
Traditional Japanese Noh Masks. http://www.nohmask.com/


Travel
Airports & Airlines
ANA (All Nippon Airways). http://www.ana.co.jp/eng/
JAL (Japan Airlines). http://www.jal.co.jp/en/
Kansai International Airport (near Osaka). http://www.kansai-airport.or.jp/en/index.asp
Matsuyama Airport (island of Shikoku). http://www.matsuyama-airport.co.jp/ (in Japanese only)
Narita International Airport (near Tokyo). http://www.narita-airport.jp/en/

Trains
Japan Rail Pass. http://www.japanrailpass.net/eng/en001.html
JR-EAST. To/from Narita Int'l Airport. http://www.jreast.co.jp/e/
JR-WEST. To/from Kansai Int'l Airport. http://www.westjr.co.jp/english/global.html
Jorudan train route finder. http://www.jorudan.co.jp/english/index.html

General Travel
Japan National Tourist Organization (JNTO). http://www.jnto.go.jp/eng/
Japan Ryokan Association. http://www.ryokan.or.jp/index_en.html
Japan Youth Hostels, Inc. http://www.jyh.or.jp/english
JTB (Japan Travel Bureau) USA, Inc. http://www.jtbusa.com/
L.A. Walker, Culver City, CA. Relocation info for native Japanese. http://la-walker.net/
Must Love Japan - Video Travel Guide of Japan. http://www.mustlovejapan.com/
Pop Japan Travel. http://popjapantravel.com/
Tokyo International Hostel. http://www.tokyo-ih.jp/en/index.html
Tokyo Tourism Info, Tokyo Metropolitan Government. http://www.tourism.metro.tokyo.jp/english/
Welcome to Japan! http://www.welcome-to.jp/index.html
YES! TOKYO, TCVB (Tokyo Convention & Visitors Bureau). http://www.tcvb.or.jp/en/index_en.htm


Miscellaneous
GaijinPot.com. For foreigners in Japan. http://www.gaijinpot.com/
JAL (Japan Airlines) Foundation. http://www.jal-foundation.or.jp/indexe.htm
Japan Foundation. http://www.jpf.go.jp/e/index.html
The Japan Foundation Forum, Minato-ku, Tokyo, Japan. http://jfforum.jpf.go.jp/
Museum of Contemporary Art, Koutou-ku, Tokyo, Japan. http://www.dnp.co.jp/museum/tokyo/tokyo-e.html?MU=2