Partially updated: May 28, 2009

Conventions
Alternative Press Expo, The Concourse, San Francisco, CA. http://www.comic-con.org/ape/
Ani-Jam (est. 2003), Fresno, CA. http://www.ani-jam.com/
Anime Expo (est. 1992), L.A. Convention Center, CA. Largest U.S. anime & manga convention. http://www.anime-expo.org/
Anime Los Angeles (est. 2005), Airport Marriott, CA. http://www.animelosangeles.org/ala
Anime Vegas Convention (est. 2004), Las Vegas, NV. http://www.animevegas.com/
Comic-Con International (est. 1970), San Diego, CA. Largest U.S. comics & popular arts convention. http://comic-con.org/
Comic Market (Comiket) (est. 1975), Tokyo Big Sight, Japan. World's largest comics convention. http://www.comiket.co.jp/index_e.html
Condor Con, San Diego (est. 1994), CA. San Diego's longest-running sci-fi & fantasy convention. http://www.condorcon.org/
FanimeCon, San Jose, CA. Northern Calif.'s largest anime convention. http://www.fanime.com/
New York Anime Festival (est. 2007), Jacob Javits Center, NYC, NY. http://www.nyanimefestival.com/en-us/index.cfm
New York Comic-Con (est. 2006), Jacob Javits Center, NYC, NY. http://www.nycomiccon.com
Pacific Media Expo, Los Angeles, CA. http://pacificmediaexpo.info/2009/
Tokyo International Anime Fair (TAF) (est. 2002), Tokyo Big Sight, Japan. World's largest anime exhibition. http://www.tokyoanime.jp/en/index.php
WonderCon, Moscone Center South, San Francisco, CA. http://www.comic-con.org/wc/
World Fantasy Convention, Calgary, Alberta, Canada (locations change annually). http://www.worldfantasy.org/
World Science Fiction Convention (Worldcon), longest-running sci-fi con (est. 1939), locations change annually. http://www.worldcon.org/
Yaoi-Con (est. 2001), San Francisco, CA. http://www.yaoicon.com/
Yaoi Jamboree (est. 2008), Phoenix, AZ. (no website 2009)
YaYuCo: Yaoi & Yuri Convention (est. 2006), Dachau, Germany. http://www.yayuco.de/

Directories & Catalogs
AnimeCons.com. Anime conventions in the U.S. and Canada. http://www.animecons.com/
Artbook Collection Database. Anime/manga artbooks. http://www.asgard.gen.nz/artbooks/about.html
Bud Plant's Incredible Catalog: The Art Enthusiast's Book Source - Since 1970. http://www.budplant.com/
ComicSpace. Social network. http://www.comicspace.com/
Ohio State's Manga Pages: Manga Libraries & Museums in Japan. http://pears.lib.ohio-state.edu/manga/muslib.html
Online Comics. Directory. http://www.onlinecomics.net/
SciFiConventions.com. http://www.scificonventions.com/

Industry Sites
801 Media (DMP)(est. 2006). Yaoi. http://www.801media.com/
ADV Films (A.D. Vision), Houston, TX (est. 1992), ADV Manga (est. 2003). ADV Tokyo/A.D. Vision, ADV Europe/ADV International, Anime Network, Newtype USA. http://www.advfilms.com/
Anime International Co. (AIC), Nerima-ku, Tokyo (est. 1982). http://www.aicanime.com/
ANIPLEX, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo. Anime producer. http://www.aniplex.co.jp/
Antarctic Press, San Antonio, TX (est. 1984). OEL manga. http://www.antarctic-press.com/
Aurora Publishing, Torrance, CA (est. 2007), sub. of Ohzora Publishing (pub. of Manga Harlequin) http://www.ohzora.co.jp/english/.
• Aurora imprint (shojo & josei manga): http://www.aurora-publishing.com/
• Deux (yaoi): http://www.deux-press.com/
• Luv Luv (josei/ladies comics [redicomi]): http://www.luvluv-press.com/
Bandai Entertainment (USA), Cypress, CA, sub. of Namco Bandai Holdings (USA). Anime distributor.
http://www.bandai-ent.com/
Be Beautiful (Central Park Media), NYC, NY. Yaoi. (no website 2009)
Blu Manga (TOKYOPOP)(est. 2005). Yaoi. http://www.blumanga.com/
Broccoli International (USA), L.A., CA. Gamers, Japan's 2nd largest characters goods store.
• Corporate: http://www.bro-usa.com/
• Retail: http://www.animegamers.com/ (Site closed since September 30, 2007.)
• Graphic Novels: http://www.broccolibooks.com/
• Boysenberry Books (Broccoli Books, yaoi imprint)(est. 2007): http://boysenberrybooks.com/
Capcom® Comics (UDON Entertainment Corp.) http://www.capcomcomics.com/GoForBroke/
CMX Manga (DC Comics). http://www.dccomics.com/cmx/
Central Park Media, NYC, NY. Anime & manga. http://www.centralparkmedia.com/
Daiwon Culture Industry, Korea. International licensing of manhwa. http://www.daiwon.co.kr
Dark Horse Comics, Milwaukie, OR (est. 1986). Third largest comics publisher in U.S. http://www.darkhorse.com/
Del Rey Manga (Random House)(est. 2004). http://www.randomhouse.com/delrey/manga/index.pperl
Digital Manga Publishing (DMP), Gardena, CA (est. 1996). http://www.dmpbooks.com/index.php?
DramaQueen (est. 2005). Yaoi. http://www.onedramaqueen.com/
DrMaster Publications (DGN Production), Fremont, CA (est. 2004). Kung fu comics & manga. http://www.drmasterbooks.com/
Freemanhwa. http://www.freemanhwa.com/ (site under construction 1/08; replaced Ice Kunion)
FUNimation Entertainment, Fort Worth, TX, sub. of Navarre Corp. Anime. http://www.funimation.com/
Geneon Entertainment (formerly Pioneer Entertainment)(Dentsu Inc.), Long Beach, CA. http://www.geneonanimation.com/
Gnome International. International artist promoter. http://www.gnomeinternational.com/
Go! Comi (Go! Media Entertainment, LLC), Agoura Hills, CA (est. 2005). Manga. http://www.gocomi.com/
Infinity Studios, Richmond, CA (est. 2004). Manhwa. http://www.infinitystudios.com/
Iris Print, Redlands, CA (est. 2006). OEL yaoi. http://www.boyslovebooks.com/
Japanime Co. Ltd., Kawaguchi-shi, Saitama, Japan. Manga University books. http://www.japanime.com/
Junémanga.com (DMP), Gardena, CA. Yaoi. http://www.junemanga.com/index.php?
Juxtapose Fantasy, Las Vegas, NV. OEL yaoi by subscription. http://www.juxtaposefantasy.net/
Kinokuniya Bookstore. Largest Japanese bookstore. Anime/comics bestsellers list. http://www.kinokuniya.com/
KNET.TV: For entertainment & IT solution. Korean site. http://www.knet.tv
KOCCA USA office, L.A., CA (est. 2004). http://www.koreacontent.org/usa/index.html
Korean Manhwa (UDON Entertainment Corp.)(est. 2007). http://www.koreanmanhwa.com/
Kotobukiya, Tachikawa-shi, Tokyo (est. 1953). Japan's largest collector toy company. http://www.kotous.com/
Media Blasters, NYC, NY. http://www.media-blasters.com/, http://stores.ebay.com/MEDIA-BLASTERS-rareflix
NETCOMICS (Ecomix Media Co.), Jersey City, NJ (est. 2005). Manhwa. http://www.netcomics.com/
Nichibei Anime, Encinitas, CA. Seller of anime production cels. http://www.nichibeianime.com/
Nippon Engineering College. Katayanagi Institute technical school (manga & animation, computer graphics). http://www.neec.ac.jp/cie/us/
P.L. Nunn's Bishonen Works. Fan fics & OEL yaoi. http://www.bishonenworks.com/
Production I.G [sic] (formerly I.G Tatsunoko, est. 1987), Kokubunji-shi, Tokyo, Japan. http://www.productionig.com/
Public Square Books, NYC, NY. Spanish-language graphic novels & manga. http://www.publicsquarebooks.com/
Region Free: Japan Artist Network, San Francisco, CA. Artist referral. http://www.regionfreejan.com/
Score Entertainment, Arlington, TX. Interactive trading card games. http://www.scoreent.com/
Seven Seas Entertainment, L.A., CA (est. 2004). http://www.gomanga.com/ Sigongsa. Korean publishing co. http://www.sigongsa.com/
Studio e•go! Corp. http://www.studio-ego.co.jp (Japanese only) Toei Animation Co., Tokyo, Japan (est. 1948; est. 2004 in L.A.). http://www.toei-anim.com/
TOKYOPOP (formerly Mixx), L.A., CA (est. 1997). Manga. http://www.tokyopop.com/
Toynami, Van Nuys, CA (est. 2000). Manufacturer & distributor of collectible toys. http://www.toynami.com/
UDON Entertainment Corp (est. 2001?). Capcom comics, Korean manhwa. http://www.udonentertainment.com/
Umbrella Studios (est. 1999). OEL yaoi. http://www.umbrellastudios.com/
VIZ Media (Shogakukan, Shueisha), San Francisco, CA. Manga. http://www.viz.com/
Yaoi Press (est. 2004). OEL yaoi. http://yaoipress.com/
Yuricon (ALC Publishing)(est. 2000). Lesbian manga. http://www.yuricon.org/

Museums
Bandai Museum (includes Gundam Museum), Matsudo-shi, Chiba, Japan. http://www.bandai-museum.jp/ (Japanese only)
Ghibli Museum: Museum of Hayao Miyazaki's Animation, Mitaka, Japan. http://www.ghibli-museum.jp/
Manga Kaikan: Cartoon Art Museum (Rakuten Kitazawa, founder of modern Japanese cartoon), Omiya Koen train station, Kita-ku, Saitama-shi, Saitama-ken, Tokyo, Japan. http://www.scvb.or.jp/e/e_sight/e_sight_museum.html
Osamu Tezuka Manga Museum, Takarazuka City, Hyogo Prefecture, Japan. http://en.tezuka.co.jp/tomm/info.html
Shigeru Mizuki Museum (creator of supernatural manga Ge-Ge-Ge no Kitaro), Sakaiminato City, Tottori Prefecture, Japan. http://www.sakaiminato.net/site2/page/foreign/eng/kitaro/
Suginami Animation Museum, Ogikubo, Suginami-ku, Tokyo, Japan. http://www.sam.or.jp/flier.htm
Toei Animation Gallery, Higashi Oizumi, Nerima-ku, Tokyo, Japan. http://www.toei-anim.co.jp/tag/ (Japanese only), http://www.tourism.metro.tokyo.jp/english/spot/nerima2.htmlTokyo Anime Center (est. 15 Mar 2006), Akihabara, Tokyo, Japan. http://www.animecenter.jp/eng/index.html

News Sites
i360, anime & manga news. http://www.i360.com/
About.com: Manga. http://manga.about.com/
Advanced Media Network. Games, visual novels. http://www.AdvancedMN.com/
Aestheticism.com (est. 1998), first U.S. yaoi web site. http://www.aestheticism.com/
Akadot News (DMP). Anime news. http://www.akadot.com/
Akiba Angels. Doujinshi creators info. http://www.akibaangels.com/indexe.php
The Anime Blog (est. Oct. 2005). http://theanimeblog.com/
Anime News Network. http://www.animenewsnetwork.com/
Anime News Service. http://www.animenewsservice.com/
Anime On DVD. http://www.animeondvd.com/
The Beat: The News Blog of Comics Culture, by Heidi MacDonald. http://pwbeat.publishersweekly.com/blog
Comic Book Legal Defense Fund. http://www.cbldf.org/
ComiPress: Manga News & Info. http://comipress.com/
Friends of Lulu. http://www.friends-lulu.org/
GGY-Meta: Guns, Guys, & Yaoi. Tina Anderson's blog about her novels. http://ggymeta.wordpress.com/
iComics Daily Reviews. http://www.iComics.com/
ICv2. Pop culture retail news. http://www.icv2.com/
Manga Jouhou: News & Reviews. http://manganews.net/index.php
Neoseeker. Hardware & games. http://www.neoseeker.com/
Newtype USA: The Moving Pictures Magazine. http://www.newtype-usa.com/
Prism Comics. LGBT guide. http://www.prismcomics.org/
Sequential Tart. http://www.sequentialtart.com/

International News Sites
Animania, Germany. http://www.animania.de
Animematic, Mexico. http://www.animematic.com/
Animedia (& Animediatype): "The #1 Anime Portal in Latin America." http://www.animedia.com.mx
Atomix: La revista de videojuegos en américa latina. http://www.atomix.vg

Webcomic News
Comixpedia. http://www.comixpedia.org/
Web Cartoonists' Choice Awards (est. 2001).
The Webcomics Examiner.

Fan Sites
Cosplay.com. Largest U.S. online cosplay community. http://www.cosplay.com/
Gaia Interactive forum. http://wwww.gaiaonline.com/
Team Misaki Studios. News re California conventions. http://www.teammisaki.org/

Stores
Akadot Retail. http://www.akadotretail.com/
Anime Jungle: Special Collectors Shop, Los Angeles, CA. http://www.animejungle.net/
J-List online store. Popular culture products. http://www.jlist.com/index.html

Tokyo Stores
(with Emi's help; last updated March 2006)
Animate (across from Sunshine City), Ikebukuro. http://www.animate-world.com/
Animate (down the hill from Jonathan's Restaurant), Shibuya. http://www.animate-world.com/
Book-Off (used books), Harajuku. http://www.bookoff.co.jp
Character Queen (boy's love/yaoi), Ikebukuro.
Junkudo Shoten (reg. bookstore, east exit of JR train station), Ikebukuro. http://www.junkudo.co.jp/shop2.html
K-Books Anime (btwn. Animate & Character Queen), Ikebukuro. http://www.k-books.co.jp
K-Books Manga (& women's doujinshi)(second floor of Family Mart), Ikebukuro. http://www.k-books.co.jp
KAC Shop (doujinshi), Ikebukuro. http://www2.spacelan.ne.jp/~kac-shop/topframe.html
Mandarake Nakano (main store)(est. 1987), Nakano-ku. http://www.mandarake.co.jp/english/shop/nkn.html
Mandarake Ikebukuro (across from Sunshine City, in basement of AM/PM store), Ikebukuro. http://www.mandarake.co.jp/english/shop/
Mandarake Shibuya (basement), Shibuya. http://www.mandarake.co.jp/english/shop/
Meikido (used doujinshi)(difficult to find, 3rd fl. of a bldg.), Shibuya. http://www.meikido.com/NDOUJIN/shop.html
Toranoana (on way to Sunshine City, turn right at KFC), Ikebukuro. http://www.toranoana.jp/shop/shop_bukuro.html

Art Supplies & Tutorials
Adobe Studio software. http://studio.adobe.com/
Blambot Comic Fonts & Lettering. http://www.blambot.com/
Copic markers. http://www.copicmarker.com/
Deleter Manga. Store and COMIC-Techno magazine manga tutorials. http://www.deleter.jp/eng/index.html
Holbein. Artist's & Designer's Materials. http://www.holbeinhk.com/
How to Draw Manga. http://howtodrawmanga.com/
Manga Academy. Online manga tutorial site. http://www.mangaacademy.com/login.php
Manga University, reg. trademark of Japanime Co., Kawaguchi-shi, Saitama, Japan. http://www.howtodrawmanga.com/
RETAS! PRO. Digital animation software. http://www.celsys.co.jp/en/retas
Wacom Technology. Pens & pen tablets. http://www.wacom.com/